View All Posts

Sep 23

Series Saturday: Flavia de Luce

Posted on September 23, 2016 at 2:02 PM by Lindsey Kult

Flavia de Luce Collage

To begin the new blog series - Series Saturday - I will be introducing you to the Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley! 
Mystery, Historical Fiction

Location in Howard Miller:

Meet the Character: 
Flavia de Luce is an adventurous 11-year-old girl living in the small village of Bishop's Lacey in 1950s England. She and her sisters, Ophelia and Daphne, lost their mother, Harriet, 10 years prior. Her father, Colonel Haviland "Jacko" de Luce, spends his days secluded in Buckshaw - the family country manor home. While the rest of her family is fine spending their days inside Buckshaw, Flavia's imagination cannot be contained within the giant house's walls. Flavia is not an ordinary girl by any means; she spends her days preforming chemical experiments (including extracting poison ivy's essential oil and placing it on Ophelia's lipstick) and riding through the countryside on her best friend - her bicycle Gladys. For a small village, Bishop's Lacey sees a remarkable amount of murders and Flavia determinedly investigates them as often as possible. She has a tendency to force herself upon Inspector Hewitt and solve crimes using her wit and chemical know-how. Her youthful innocence allows her to ask the questions adults would rather to avoid while her spunk leads her to make blunt statements that can make you laugh out loud. She is a character you won't soon forget!

Number in the Series:
There are currently 8 books in the series and one short story. 
  1. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
  2. The Weed that Strings the Hangman's Bag
  3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
  4. I Am Half-Sick of Shadows
  5. Speaking from Among the Bones
  6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
  7. As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust
  8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd - Released 09/20
The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse is a short story that was published between "The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches" and "As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust."

Final Word: 
The Flavia de Luce Series is an old-fashioned mystery series. She might sound quirky on paper, but she and the other villagers are wonderful characters who transport the reader to a sleepy post-war English village. I highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys mysteries without the dark descriptions and rude language!