View All Posts

Jan 04

Series Saturday UPDATE: Flavia de Luce

Posted on January 4, 2019 at 2:46 PM by Lindsey Kult

Flavia de Luce Series

For this week's Series Saturday, we are returning to the first Series Saturday written for the library blog - The Flavia de Luce series by Alan Bradley! Alan Bradley has created a remarkable young girl to take his readers back in time. Flavia de Luce is a young girl living in very difficult times. As her family attempts to recover and maintain their social standing after the war, she focuses her energy on solving murders around the village. You might be asking why a young girl is out there solving murders. That's an excellent question and the answer is simple - Flavia is drawn to the excitement and mystery and no one in her family notices her involvement. When the police ask her to stop, she does what many 11 year-olds do when told no... She ignores them! 


Mystery, Historical Fiction

Location in Howard Miller:


This series takes place in post-war England. 

Meet the Character: 
Flavia de Luce is an adventurous 11-year-old girl living in the small village of Bishop's Lacey in 1950s England. She and her sisters, Ophelia and Daphne, lost their mother, Harriet, 10 years prior. Her father, Colonel Haviland "Jacko" de Luce, spends his days secluded in Buckshaw - the family country manor home. While the rest of her family is fine spending their days inside Buckshaw, Flavia's imagination cannot be contained within the giant house's walls. Flavia is not an ordinary girl by any means; she spends her days performing chemical experiments (including extracting poison ivy's essential oil and placing it on Ophelia's lipstick) and riding through the countryside on her best friend - her bicycle, Gladys. For a small village, Bishop's Lacey sees a remarkable amount of murders and Flavia determinedly investigates them as often as possible. She has a tendency to force herself upon Inspector Hewitt and solve crimes using her wit and chemical know-how. Her youthful innocence allows her to ask the questions adults would rather to avoid, while her spunk leads her to make blunt statements that can make you laugh out loud. She is a character you won't soon forget!

Number in the Series:
There are currently 10 books in the series and one short story. Originally there were supposed to be 6 novels total, but it looks like Alan Bradley is going to keep on going for as long as he can! 
  1. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie
  2. The Weed that Strings the Hangman's Bag
  3. A Red Herring Without Mustard
  4. I Am Half-Sick of Shadows
  5. Speaking from Among the Bones
  6. The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches
  7. As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust
  8. Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd
  9. The Grave's a Fine and Private Place
  10. The Golden Tresses of the Dead - Comes out on January 22, 2019
The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse is a short story that was published between "The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches" and "As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust."

Final Word: 
The Flavia de Luce Series is an old-fashioned mystery series. She might sound quirky on paper, but she and the other villagers are wonderful characters who transport the reader to a sleepy post-war English village. I highly recommend it for anyone who enjoys mysteries without the dark descriptions and rude language!